Cornwall Curling Award Winners Announced

Cornwall Curling Award Winners Announced
Bill Sobering (Curler of the Year) and Janice Sobering (Spirit of Curling Winner) holding their respective trophies. (Photo : Cornwall Curling Centre)

Cornwall, Ontario – The Cornwall Curling Centre held its annual Awards earlier this April, marking the culmination of the 23/24 curling season. The event, held at the centre's premises, gathered over 150 members for a night of celebration.

Bill Sobering, who was named Curler of the Year, was astonished. “I was very much surprised. I had no idea I was even being considered,” Sobering shared. He recounted his journey with a new men's team, an 8-ender achievement, and a cherished win with his sons at the Men's Open Bonspiel.

Janice Sobering, winner of the Spirit of Curling award, expressed her gratitude for the recognition. “It's an honour to be recognized by your fellow curlers for doing something you enjoy,” she said, emphasizing her volunteer work and coaching efforts.

Josette Leduc, awarded Member of the Year, reflected on her deep involvement in the club. “It was a surprise to learn that people noticed my involvement in various aspects of the club,” Leduc noted, detailing her extensive volunteer work and leadership roles over the years.

Cornwall Curling Club President Robert Mahon highlighted the significance of the awards ceremony. “Holding the event on the closing night allows us to honour the award recipients in person, in front of members and peers,” Mahon stated, adding that the evening coincides with the Bonspiel Tournament.

The awards ceremony recognized several other notable winners. Mairen Fleming was celebrated as Youth Curler of the Year. Team Baker, comprising Micheline Baker, Marie-Claude Comeau, Kate MacDonald, and Cindy Charlebois, won the Tuesday Night Women's Competitive League, while Team McLean, featuring Neil McLean, Jim Lamoureux, DJ Zeran, and Terry Robertson, took the Wednesday Night LVB Men's title.

The Thursday Night Mixed League champions were Team McDonald, including Scott McDonald, Pam Lalonde, Robert Mahon, and Martine Pilon. Cameron Wright, Thomas Bray, Liam Cumming, and Evan Walker were named Youth Competitive Team of the Year.

Additional honorees included William Gibbons for the Youth Steve Smith Dedication to Curling, Kaleb Johnson and Ellie Dupuis as Most Improved Youth Curlers, Tenley Churchill for Youth Spirit of Curling, Dena Rozon for Day Ladies – Spirit of Curling, Pierre Lyonnais and Garry Pilon as Day Senior Men – Rookie of the Year and Spirit of Curling respectively.

The evening also celebrated emerging talents like Carole Duchesne and Dan Roy, recognized as Female and Male Rookies of the Year, respectively. As the curling season wraps up, Cornwall Curling looks forward to its next event, the Italian Banquet Fundraiser with live music by the County Lads, scheduled for Saturday, May 11. More information about Cornwall Curling Centre can be found on their website at

Share this article